Hippo Categories


The participants will compete in 9 categories (6 regular and 3 special) based on the Common European Framework. The categories will be as follows:


The preliminary round will consist of three(3) parts namely:

READING – a test of reading comprehension (MCQ) questions

LISTENING – a test of listening comprehension

USE OF ENGLISH – a test on the use of English


The semi-final round will consist of two(2)  parts :

READING – a test of reading comprehension (MCQ) questions

WRITING – a test of a free-writing task (100-200 words) & 30 MCQ questions

There is only one(1) correct answer to every question. There are no negative marks. Ranking is based on the average number of marks achieved on both reading and the writing test.


In the final round, candidates will be taking a Gatehouse Awards exam, all four(4) skills included. The test samples / past papers are available on http://www.hippo-olympiad.org. The exam level for the final round will be one CEFR level higher than the one in the preliminary round that is the same as the semi-final round test.

In addition to the four-skill GA examinations, candidates take a Use of English test consisting of 30 questions. The results of this test will be used for final round ranking purposes and will not affect the GA examination qualification score.

All candidates need to be accompanied by their English language teacher from their school. Parents who wish to accompany their child(ren), need to make their own travel and accommodation arrangements as the hotels where the students are accommodated are booked exclusively for the Olympiad participants.

The programme of the final round will be available on http://www.hippo-olympiad.org one(1) week before the final round at the latest and will include the Olympiad final round schedule as well as sightseeing options.